One of the greatest assets held by BCA is an active and involved group of volunteers who serve on its seven standing committees. Represented on the committees are dozens of construction professionals and individuals from other types of businesses – architects, engineers, materials or professional service providers – who work in tandem with contractors. The vast experiences and strong business expertise represented on each committee through these individuals gives these hard-working groups a powerful and effective sense of direction as they work to carry out their prescribed areas of work.

 BCA Standing Committees

Economic Development Committee

To promote growth in northeast Indiana through financial and lobbying support to area economic development organizations and to help members be apprised on issues of importance.

  • Chairman - Tim Ehlerding, Fetters Construction
  • Vice-Chairman - Rick Lehman, Keystone Concrete, Inc.
  • Board Liaison - Jake Fetters, Mosaic Building Solutions LLC
  • Andy Brooks, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Tom Deitche, Bradley Company
  • Greg DePrey, Allen Business Machines
  • Matt Graves, Strahm
  • John Hoffman, Star Excavating
  • Tom Nowak, Katz, Sapper & Miller
  • Janet Roe, One Eleven Design
  • Sam Schenkel, Lassus Bros. Oil, Inc.
  • Aimee Shimasaki, MartinRiley Architects/Engineers
  • Rob Slusser, Centier Bank
  • Rob Young, Hagerman
  • Steve Zacher, The Zacher Company

Government Affairs Committee

To monitor legislation affecting construction and develop closer relationships with local elected officials.
  • Chairman - John W. Brogan, BZW Master Painters, Inc.
  • Vice-Chairman - Ron Roberts, Koontz-Wagner Electric
  • Bill Fishering, Beers Mallers Backs & Salin, LLP
  • Parry Leavell, Star Financial Group
  • Bill Meyer, Shambaugh & Son, L.P.
  • Cindy Riebersal, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Mark Warsco, Rothberg Logan & Warsco LLP

 Membership Committee

To seek and retain quality members and involve members in BCA activities.

  • Chairman - Greg Lynch, Almet, Inc.
  • Vice-Chairman - Melissa Jaegle, Master Consultants LP
  • Board Liaison - Gary Voirol, MSKTD & Associates
  • Ambassador - Tom Fisher, Stoops Freightliner
  • Ambassador - Kelly Geller, Hagerman
  • Ambassador - Nick Shah, Impex International Inc.
  • Ambassador - Cecile Weir, 1st Source Bank
  • Brandon Bushee, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Andy Hyndman, ONI Risk Partners
  • Devon Kirk, Robert Crosby, Inc.
  • Tad Marsh, Zumbrun Construction
  • David Michael, Michael Kinder & Sons, Inc.
  • Seth Sailors, Katz, Sapper & Miller
  • Mick Stewart, ISU Stewart, Brimner, Peters & Company

Program Committee

Plans and implements BCA membership meetings, events and awards programs.  Helps members build their social capital (networking).

  • Chairman - Jeff Harding, Haller & Colvin, P.C.
  • Vice-Chairman - John Hawkins, H & H Sales Co.
  • Board Liaison - Phil Miller, C.M.S. Roofing
  • Todd Adams, Elevatus Architecture
  • Samantha Bercot, Crowe LLP
  • Brian Gerig, Irving Materials, Inc.
  • Matt Gerbers, Shambaugh & Son, L.P.
  • Amanda Kinneman, PNC Bank
  • Corey McSweeney, Katz, Sapper & Miller
  • Kelli Warner, Design Collaborative

Safety Committee

To identify members' needs for executive safety and OSHA compliance functions and offer programs to meet those needs such as bi-monthly Construction Safety Forums and other education /training opportunities.

  • Chairman - Sheryl Wiser, Fox Contractors Corp.
  • Vice-Chairman - Carl Swalls, Fetters Construction Inc.
  • Board Liaison - Mike Schenkel, Schenkel Construction, Inc.
  • John Brogan, BZW Master Painters, Inc.
  • Keith Campbell, C.L. Schust Company
  • Terris Green, Star Excavating
  • Matt Herndon, Weigand Construction Co., Inc.
  • Andy Litchfield, Gibson Insurance
  • Tom O'Connor, Shambaugh & Son, L.P.
  • Shawn Reader, Hagerman
  • Monty Richmond, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Jordan Scheiber, Gibson Insurance
  • Rachel Skinner, Crosby Excavating
  • Tom Smith, CME Corporation
  • Mark Spears, Fox Contractors Corp.
  • Joe Strack, Don R. Fruchey, Inc.
  • David Theye, Briner Building, Inc.
  • Thomas White, Hagerman
  • Jason Zimmerman, Shambaugh & Son, L.P.

Workforce Development and Education Committee

To provide practical learning opportunities based on the needs of the membership that foster individuals' career growth and members' organizational development and to raise awareness of construction industry career opportunities in northeast Indiana.

  • Chairman - Peter F. Schenkel, C.L. Schust Co., Inc.
  • Vice-Chairman - Zach Kessie, Michael Kinder & Sons
  • Board Liaison - Larry Weigand, Weigand Construction
  • Jamie Bates, Patriot Engineering & Environmental, Inc.
  • Carly Buchanan, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Mark Englert, Mill Supplies, Inc.
  • Brad Ewart, PE, SME
  • Gordon Fisher, Old National Insurance
  • Tim Hamilton, PFW
  • Dan Gustafson, LeMaster Steel Erectors
  • Parry Leavell, STAR Financial Group
  • Bill Meyer, Shambaugh & Son, L.P.
  • Joe Mikolay III, Aerotek
  • Eric Pedersen, Fetters Construction
  • Monty Richmond, Brooks Construction
  • Craig Scherschel, Needham DBS
  • Ryan Shotts, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Karen Stahl, Moake Park Group, Inc.
  • Ryan Voorhees, Ivy Tech Community College Northeast

Young Professionals Committee

To foster growth in BCA members' younger employees by providing education and networking opportunities to expedite their advancement in their careers and into positions of leadership within their organizations and in the Association.

  • Chairman - Tom Werling, Hagerman
  • Vice-Chairman - Austin Papenbrock, The Garland Company
  • Board Liaison - David Michael, Michael Kinder & Sons, Inc.
  • Nick Alwine, Fetters Construction
  • Jamie Bates, Patriot Engineering & Environmental, Inc.
  • Carly Buchanan, Brooks Construction Co., Inc.
  • Brian Clifford, Faeger Baker Daniels LLP
  • Brad Ewart, PE, SME
  • Lea Gamble, Hamilton Hunter Builders, Inc.
  • Dylan Markley, The Hagerman Group
  • John Short, Structural Engineering Services, LLC
  • Mick Stewart, ISU Stewart, Brimner, Peters & Company
  • Curtis Tomlinson, Katz, Sapper & Miller
  • Sean Weigand, The DeHayes Group